Once Upon A Time . . .

Don’t be fooled. The little folk of fairytale and fable are the keepers of the wisdom. What’s more, they’re not stuffy about it. Worldwide, no matter the tradition, folk tales challenge the norm, encourage creative problem-solving, even question who you are in order for you to grow into someone else.

We need these stories. Proof is in the fact that if our families don’t provide, we will look elsewhere for them. I have a Native American friend who lives near Taos Pueblo in New Mexico who will not tell a story of the Corn Mother unless her listener also shares a story from his or her tradition. She worries that there are not enough storytellers. She believes that when we forget our stories, we forget everything.

Ireland, of course, is known for its storytellers, as this little video advertises . . .

8 Comments

Filed under Animal Stories, children's stories, fairytale, Fantasy, Old Storytelling Traditions, Storytelling, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Once Upon A Time . . .

  1. Hey there, thanks for using my video, I love your blog! – Laura

  2. Thank you, Laura, animated video is a work of love and this one is soooooo lovely!

  3. It is lovely & strange, like a good tale! A quartet of folks just passed by, emitting noises in rhythm, looking like the Brennman musicians…
    Thanks for the inspiration, J!

  4. How often we’ve talked about stories together, Jerrie. It reminds me that stories are what bind a friendship as well. As we share our tales with one another, we create new tellings–slight alterations, nuances, and an event in itself. We become the story, the beginning, the middle, the meaning and the end.

  5. Your blog entry reminds me how hooked I was on folk tales when I was a kid. At the library, I routinely checked out “Folk Tales of (fill in the blank with a country, ie: Ireland, Norway, Wales, Spain, Russia, France, Germany, etc.)”

    One of the best things I ever did when I traveled to Ireland was to take along a book called “Women in Celtic Myth” by Moyra Caldecott, and I read about Grania, Macha, Maeve, and more as I traveled the countryside.

    • Thanks. I wish I’d thought of that when I visited Ireland. However, the locals warned me away from “fairy trees,” which are best not disturbed. They weren’t kidding and I didn’t disturb them!

  6. What a marvelous video! Thanks for posting it. This is actually really close to the next chapter I need to write in my book, about the stories we have told ourselves about the Earth that have gotten us into this ecological crisis. I love the whimsy–good tone to remember when writing.

  7. Pingback: Fairy Folk and Family History | Jerrie Hurd Takes Family History Seriously . . .

Leave a Reply

