Christmas Letter Time–Yeah Family, Yeah Bloggers

letter writing quillYes, I know people who bemoan the fact that no one writes letters any more. Those same people aren’t blog savvy. If they were, they’d know that bloggers are the letter writers of the 21st Century. I read blogs on everything from a-poem-day to the history of Yellowstone Park. I see photos of food in restaurants and police brutality in Oakland. I am informed about everyday things and history-in-the-making.

Christmas letters are something else. So far this season, I’ve gotten the good, the bad, and the ugly. Since I love family stories, why can’t I get excited about family letters? I’m thinking it’s because they lack the spontaneity and freshness of blogs.

letter writing quillChristmas comes once a year, and we try to roll everything into a summary. The result is often a catalog of  what Tim, Tammy and George did. They competed, they won, they advanced a grade or got a scholarship. Yeah! However, as a lover of stories, I would rather know the ups and downs that went with that achievement and how they handled defeat–assuming they didn’t win everything. Defeat reveals more about character than success.


Our dogsitter just arrived to pick up the keys. She’ll be in charge while we visit the granddaughters. “Just wanted you to know, my father died two days ago. We’re doing the memorial in a couple of weeks, so I’m still good for taking care of things, but I thought you should know.”

letter writing quillYes, I should know. She didn’t have to tell me but telling created a bond.

Yes, I should know, so keep sending those Christmas letters. I need to know what everyone did last year. Otherwise we will drift too far apart. At the same time, raise a glass to blogs and bloggers everywhere. Bloggers keep us informed, entertained and aware of our shared humanity all year long. How good is that?

To borrow a phrase, “Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night” Or Solstice, Kwanza, Hanukkah and/or any other celebration that marks the season. The “merry” is the part we need to know!

5 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Family history, Family Stories, Storytelling

5 responses to “Christmas Letter Time–Yeah Family, Yeah Bloggers

  1. Complaining that nobody writes letters is like complaining that nobody fixes tires. In the Model-T era people figured on getting a flat every 50 miles or so. They jacked up the car, took the tire off the wheel, got out the goop and patched the tube. When technology got better, people quit doing those things. For the same reasons we travel a lot more than we did 100 years ago, we correspond a lot more that we did then. We tweet, blog, and email. It’s all good.

    M E R R Y C H R I S T M A S

    to everybody—no matter how you send the message.

  2. Well said and I hope you noted the Yellowstone blog reference!!!

  3. Wishing you merry, support, strength, joy & happiness this season & in the New Year! You are a writer’s advocate, Jerri, and a keeper of the flame of family & friendship!
    With love,
    i

  4. Thanks, I’m almost embarrassed at the praise!

Leave a Reply

