Where Are Your Old Photos? On Your I-Phone, Maybe?

shoebox of photosI did the hard way. Set up a photo stand and copied the old family photos via film using my old Nikon 100. THEN I scanned them, one by one, one by one. If you’ve ever tried to tackle the task of copying old family photos, you know why most don’t. It’s too hard, too iffy, and too time consuming. You could grow old yourself in the process.

So where are your old photos? Does this look familiar?

Enter ShoeBox–the same I-Phone app that let you scan receipts and business cards now lets you scan your old photos. You can even straighten, rotate, caption and tag the image. You might have to watch for glare, but that minor compared to the mind-numbing previous possibilities.

You can upload them directly to Facebook which is rumored to be creating a scrapbook function, soon to be available for those who want to document their life pre-Facebook.

OR, if that’s not to your liking, the photos can be stored in your I-Phone and/or uploaded to your computer. It’s nothing short of getting the old family photos out of the shoebox and into your busy life. I’m excited.

3 Comments

Filed under Family Photos, Keepsakes, Why Stories?

3 responses to “Where Are Your Old Photos? On Your I-Phone, Maybe?

  1. jennyrabbit

    Wow, that sounds so cool! Unfortunately I don’t have an iPhone yet, but I’m sure I will succumb eventually.

  2. This is great news for many of my friends who, like you, get overwhelmed with a scanner and the drudgery of archiving old photos. I’m going to try it out but I’d be curious to hear your impressions of the quality of the photos.

    • IPhone photos are getting better and better. I’m often surprised. Plus the pictures can be uploaded into Photoshop or similar program and enhanced. It’s not a perfect solution but better than no copying. Thanks for comment.

Leave a Reply

